## **Cross-Party Group Annual Report**

## **Cross Party Group Details**

## **Cross Party Group Title:**

Cross Party Group for North Wales in the Senedd

## **Group membership and office holders**

### Name of Group Chair:

Mark Isherwood MS

Ken Skates MS

## Names of other Members of the Senedd:

Mabon ap Gwynfor MS, Vice-Chair Carolyn Thomas MS, Vice-Chair Rhun ap Iorwerth MS Hannah Blythyn MS Gareth Davies MS Janet Finch-Saunders MS Lesley Griffiths MS Llyr Griffiths MS Siân Gwenllian MS Darren Millar MS Sam Rowlands MS Jack Sargeant MS

## Name of Secretary and Organisation:

Lucy Sweet, Welsh Local Government Association

### Names of other external members and organisations represented:

Members of Parliament for North Wales:

- Sarah Atherton MP, Wrexham
- Simon Baynes MP, Clwyd South
- Virginia Crosbie MP, Ynys Môn
- Dr. James Davies MP, Vale of Clwyd
- Rt. Hon. David Jones MP, Clwyd West
- Robin Millar MP, Aberconwy
- Liz Saville Roberts MP, Dwyfor Meirionnydd
- Rob Roberts MP, Delyn
- Mark Tami MP, Alyn and Deeside
- Hywel Williams MP, Arfon

## North Wales local authority leaders:

- Cllr Jason McLellan, Denbighshire
- Cllr Llinos Medi Huws, Anglesey
- Cllr Charlie McCoubrey, Conwy
- Cllr Mark Pritchard, Wrexham
- Cllr Ian Roberts, Flintshire
- Cllr Dyfrig Siencyn, Gwynedd

## Other meetings of the Group since the last AGM

#### Meeting 1

### **Date of Meeting:**

10<sup>th</sup> February 2023

#### **Attendees:**

Senedd Members: Mark Isherwood (Chair), Sam Rowlands, Gareth Davies, Ken Skates, Rhun ap lorwerth, Darren Millar MPs: Mark Tami MP Local Authority Leaders: Cllr Dyfrig Siencyn (Gwynedd), Cllr Ian Roberts (Flintshire), Cllr Llinos Medi (Anglesey) Speakers: Owain Williams (Purple Shoots Ambassador, North Wales) and Stephen Jones (Mersey Dee Alliance) Housing Sector Representatives: Mark Harris (Home Builders Federation) and Iwan Trefor Jones (ADRA Deputy CEO) Transport Sector Representatives: Alex Fortune (Transport for Wales) Officials: WLGA: Chris Llewelyn (Chief Executive), Naomi Alleyne (Deputy Chief Executive and Social Services and Housing Director), Tim Peppin (Director of Regeneration and Sustainable Development), Lucy Sweet (Group Secretary), Dilwyn Jones (Communications and Public Affairs Manager) Welsh Government: Bryn Richards

## **Summary of the issues discussed:**

This meeting mainly focused on **solutions** to meeting Housing Demand in North Wales (following the previous meeting in November 2022, in which members identified the challenges). There was also a transport element to the agenda, with a Growth Track 360 update and discussion.

## **Meeting 2**

## **Date of Meeting:**

19<sup>th</sup> May 2023

#### **Attendees:**

Senedd Members: Mark Isherwood (Chair), Gareth Davies and Ken Skates Local Authority Leaders: Cllr Ian Roberts (Flintshire), Cllr Mark Pritchard (Wrexham) and Cllr Jason McLellan (Denbighshire) Speakers: Alan Raymant, CEO Cwmni Egino; Elliw Williams, Cwmni Egino; John Allcock, Wrexham-Bidston Rail Users' Association Chairman; Hedd Vaughan- Evans, Ambition North Wales Officials: WLGA: Chris Llewelyn (Chief Executive), Tim Peppin (Director of Regeneration and Sustainable Development), Lucy Sweet (Group Secretary), Dilwyn Jones (Communications and Public Affairs Manager) Welsh Government: Wendy Boddington

## Summary of the issues discussed:

The main item on the agenda for this meeting was a presentation by the CEO of Cwmni Egino regarding their proposals to restart nuclear power generation at Trawsfynydd nuclear power station. Whilst Trawsfynydd is outside of the North Wales regional constituency, a development of this kind would almost certainly have an impact on the North Wales region. Transport was also a theme of the meeting; members discussed letters to the group from the Minister of State for Transport and the Wrexham-Bidston Rail Users' Association Chair spoke to the group about issues on the Wrexham to Bidston line.

#### Meeting 3

### **Date of Meeting:**

14<sup>th</sup> July 2023

#### **Attendees:**

**Senedd Members:** Mark Isherwood (Chair), Ken Skates, Llyr Gruffydd, Darren Millar, Gareth Davies and Rhun ap Ioerwerth **Local Authority Leaders:** Cllr Charlie McCoubrey (Conwy), Cllr Jason McLellan (Denbighshire) and Cllr Dyfrig Siencyn (Gwynedd) **Speakers:** Shanker Singham,

CEO Competere; Ian Davies, Head of UK Port Authorities, Stena Line; Christian Branch, Head of Service (Regulation and Economic Development Service), Isle of Anglesey County Council; Cllr Gary Pritchard, Ynys Mon Officials: WLGA: Chris Llewelyn (Chief Executive), Lucy Sweet (Group Secretary), Dilwyn Jones (Communications and Public Affairs Manager) Welsh Government: Wendy Boddington Ambition North Wales: Alwen Williams, Portfolio Director Transport for Wales: Lee Robinson, North Wales Development Director Alex Fortune

## **Summary of the issues discussed:**

The main focus of the meeting was the Anglesey Freeport proposals and the impact for North Wales (the Anglesey Freeport Governance Board presented to the group). Rail connectivity was also a focus, with the group receiving an update on actions from the previous meeting in this area.

#### Meeting 4

## **Date of Meeting:**

10<sup>th</sup> November 2023

#### **Attendees:**

Senedd Members: Mark Isherwood (Chair), Ken Skates, Llyr Gruffydd, Carolyn Thomas, Sam Rowlands. Senedd Support staff: Rhys Hughes, Ann Owen- Williams Senedd Commission Staff MPs: Mark Tami MP Welsh Youth Parliament: Keira Bailey-Hughes, Leola Local Authority Leaders: Cllr. Dyfrig Lewis Siencyn (Gwynedd) Cllr. Jason McLellan (Denbighshire), Cllr Ian Roberts (Flintshire), Cllr. Robin W. Williams (Anglesey, deputised for Cllr Llinos Medi) Guests: Lea Beckerleg (CCRA - Transport and Digital Connectivity), Alwen Williams, Ambition North Wales Portfolio Director) Speakers: Professor John Parkin, North Wales Transport Commission Transport for Wales: Lee Robinson Officials: WLGA: Chris Llewelyn (Chief Executive), Lucy Sweet (Group Secretary), Evelyn James (Support Officer), Tim Peppin (Director of Regeneration) Translation: Bethan Mair Evans

#### **Summary of the issues discussed:**

The main focus of the meeting was transport- with a presentation from the North Wales
Transport Commission and an update from Transport for Wales. Two members of the Welsh
Youth Parliament joined the meeting and gave a presentation on the Parliament and their roles.

# Professional lobbyists, voluntary organisations and charities the Group have met during the previous year.

have met during the previous year.	
The Group had no contact with professional lobbyists.	

The group met representatives of:

The Welsh Government

The Welsh Local Government Association

The North Wales Economic Ambition Board

The Mersey Dee and North Wales All Party Parliamentary Group (APPG) o Council Leaders of North Wales Local Authorities o Rolls Royce SMR

Purple Shoots

Home Builders Federation

ADRA Housing Association

Cwmni Eginio

Wrexham-Bidston Rail Users' Association

Competere

Stena

Transport for Wales

## **Annual Financial Statement**

## **Cross Party Group Title:**

Cross Party Group for North Wales in the Senedd

Date:

01/12/23

### Name of Chair:

Click or tap here to enter text.

## Name of Secretary and Organisation:

Click or tap here to enter text.

Title	Description	Amount
Group's Expenses	None	£0.00
Costs of all goods	No goods bought	£0.00
Benefits received by the group or individuals members from external bodies	No benefits received.	£0.00
Any financial support or other support.	Translation of group documents into Welsh commissioned and paid for by WLGA.  Simultaneous translation commissioned and paid for	£400
	by WLGA	±400
Total		£800

Services provided to the Group, such as hospitality.

All hospitality paid for [include the name of the group/organisation].

Date	Name and description of provider	Costs
		£0.00
Total		£0.00